Dresser RE-Do

A friend of mine is getting ready to welcome her first baby girl this December! I am so thrilled for her and her husband and I can’t wait to meet the little one! So while setting up the nursery, she realized she needed a changing table, but wanted something unique. Obviously, this called for a trip to Goodwill! We looked at every dresser and passed this one by before coming back and deciding that it might actually work.

dresserbefore

It was pretty bad, but had some very interesting lines. It was nice and long and a great height with plenty of storage, so she decided to go for it. I brought it home, cleaned it up and sanded it, and then it sat for about a month, waiting for its makeover.

Once my friend decided on the paint color, I got to work on it while she chose some new drawer pulls. 2 coats of primer and 4 coats of paint later (yes, 4 COATS! UGH!) we ended up with this beauty!

120

Aren’t those glass pulls fantastic! I just love how interesting this piece is! And it’s so feminine and sweet, perfect for a little girl’s room!

122

The top of the dresser and the drawer fronts were laminate so they just got a very light sanding. Also, the new pulls were smaller than the originals so I had to drill new holes and fill up the old ones. I used wood filler and then sanded them down nice and smooth, and no one is the wiser! Next was 2 coats of primer with a light sanding after each coat. My plan was to use my paint sprayer to save some time and get a nice smooth coat into all those nooks and crannies, but for some reason, it wasn’t working! A few choice words later, I decided to brush it. Those top 3 drawers were the worst! I was able to use a cabinet roller on the other 6, but those had to be dry brushed, 5 times! I used a very small paint brush with very little paint to make sure I didn’t end up with big gobs of paint in all those nooks. It took FOREVER!

121

I eventually finished it (something I was worried would never happen) and I’m so happy with how it turned out! It’s beautiful!

 

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

