Take A Seat

I found this super awesome, pottery barn-esque table on craigslist for a steal at $75 plus two of the chairs. I’m in love with it, but I’m not so in love with how it was working in our tiny space. We have to keep it stored up against the wall and then pull it out for every meal time. And the chairs….I guess they could be pretty cool if I refinished them, but that doesn’t change their size. They’re enormous!! We are constantly bumping into them and pushing them around to get them out of our way just to walk through the kitchen. Something had to change.

002

001

I’d been staring at this banquette seat from Ballard Designs but I just couldn’t justify the cost. That’s when I came across this blog I’d been admiring and found plans for a banquette seat. It was beautiful and looked super easy so I decided to give it a shot. (If you haven’t checked out this blog, it’s a must! Ana-white.com is filled with free and easy plans for beautiful furniture, built-ins, you name it!)

I adjusted her plans to work better for my space by making the seat depth smaller and  measuring my walls to make sure my seats would be a custom fit in my space. I drew out my plans and headed to Lowes. I had them cut my 4’x8′ board down to the sizes I needed and I grabbed some 1×4’s and some wood screws. I also got batting, foam and fabric from walmart.

I started by making my frame

IMG_20130409_160643_027

I have two separate frames for each bench that come together to make a corner bench. A couple cuts and some screws and that part was done in a flash.

Next came the legs

IMG_20130409_163044_456

once the legs were all attached I stood them up and set my boards on top to make sure everything was the right size and sturdy.

IMG_20130409_164308_319

I stapled batting around the edges of the frames and then stapled my fabric over that. I really wanted a tailored look so I added box pleats.

IMG_20130411_105739_753

My boards for the seat and the back rests got a layer of foam, batting and then fabric. I made the seat covers removable for easy cleaning and coated the rest in scotch guard. White with 2 kids and 2 dogs? I know I’m nuts! But any other color/pattern would not have looked right.

038

I added some black and white throw pillows to make it look cozy and inviting.

039

My long curtains no longer worked for the space. I attempted to cut one short to see how I liked it but it turns out, I HATE short curtains. So I just took the other panel and stapled it up sideways to mimic a roman shade. It’s just temporary until I can figure something awesome out, but it looks pretty good, right?

017

The table no longer needs to be smushed against the wall and it’s not obtrusive at all. Best part? When we sit to eat dinner, Jeff and I can trap the girls in the middle and eliminate the constant up and down from the table! muhahaha!

049

I love the way it turned out and even happier that my total project cost was just about $163. Much more doable!

7 responses

    • Thank you! the depth of our seats is 17 inches with the backs at 1 1/2 inches. Hope that helps! It was such a simple project, I think you should go for it!

  1. It’s lovely! How did you make the seat covers. You mentioned they were removable. Did you sew custom covers to go over the foam? Is the bottom fabric removable as well. I’m thinking of doing something similar in our breakfast nook, but I know it will need to be washable and I can’t quite figure that part out :).

    • Thank you!! I did sew custom covers for the seats using elastic so they stay nice and secure while using them, but come off easily for cleaning. that is the only part I made removable. I wasn’t able to come up with a good way to make the other pieces removable, but if you figure something out, please let me know! I have noticed that it’s really only the seats that get dirty in our house, and we have really messy eaters! 🙂

  2. Pingback: I’m Back….with a kitchen update! | Hardwood Floors and Black Front Doors

Leave a Reply

