Kitchen “Remodel”

This is our almost done kitchen. It’s a vast improvement from what it once was, but there is still plenty of work to do.

And here is the Before

We had to lower the cabinets quite a bit. They were pushed all the way to the ceiling and I could hardly reach to open the doors! We just unscrewed them from the wall, lowered them about 20 inches, leveled and rehung them. It was pretty easy and Taking them down made the painting process so much easier!

We are slowly changing over our appliances to stainless steel. I’m not a huge fan of the black on black, but I HAD to have black cabinets. Painting was easy, but time consuming. We removed all the doors and drawers and gave them a quick sand. After cleaning each door VERY well. It was a quick coat of KILZ primer and then Rustoleum’s oil based paint in satin black. We painted the corners and molding with a really good brush and then rolled the faces with a foam cabinet roller. Oil based paint is really smelly and difficult to work with, but it really gives the best results. They are so beautiful in any kind of light and durable to boot! I’ve since learned that using exterior latex paint and a paint sprayer is a much easier option. Oh well, next time….

I really feel like we took these boring, builder grade cabinets and turned them into stunning custom cabinetry.

I found the pulls at cabinetparts.com. They are a very traditional style in brushed nickel. I think they look great against the black. And it just over $1 a piece, they are a great steal!

I had some leftover fabric from our shower curtain and I really wanted some kind of drapery over the window, so I just cut my scrap in half and stapled each piece in place. You don’t really notice that there isn’t a rod there and it adds such a lovely print to an otherwise boring spot.

We don’t really have a dining room in our home, but we do have an eat in kitchen. The space was too small for our dining room table (which I was really starting to hate anyway) so I was on the hunt for a round table. I originally had a claw foot table painted all black in mind, but then I stumbled upon this gem. Where did I find it? Duh, craigslist! It is so cute and Pottery Barn-esque. In fact, Pottery Barn sells a very similar tablefor around $400. I got this beauty for $50! Plus 2 chairs. The lady was asking for $175 but I talked her down. That’s my most favorite thing about craigslist. No price is final! The top was oak, so naturally I painted it black. I found the other chairs in the craigslist free section and I think they work so well together. I plan to paint the chairs black as well. I’d really like to have more of  nook feel with a bench seating and cozy pillows. Stay tuned for that transformation. The curtains were once plain white. I could not find affordable black ad white striped curtains anywhere! So I bought these panels from Target for $10 a piece and painted them!

I spread them over a drop cloth in my living room one night (use plastic because mine bled through to the floor) and tape off 3 sections. I knew I wanted to start and end with the white and that I wanted bold stripes, so I just divided the length of my curtain by 7 and I knew how many inches each stripe would be. I used acrylic paint and a product called fabric medium which is also found in the acrylic paint aisle of most craft stores. I mixed 1 part fabric medium to 2 parts paint and went to town with a roller. They turned out great. I absolutely love them!

I love all the little details in my kitchen. Especially EAT. The letters were under$1 a piece from the craft store and I just mod podged scrapbook paper onto them. It took under 10 minutes. I found the ceramic creamers and sugar bowl at goodwill for 25 cents a piece. I love things that go together but don’t actually match. Seems very thoughtful and charming to me.

I used gorilla epoxy to glue candlesticks to fun plates that I found at goodwill for holding dishtowels and my coffee station. I think it adds a bit of interest and only cost  under $10 to make.

Total cost of kitchen thus far

paint for cabinets……………………….$20

pulls…………………………………………$30

custom curtains………………………….$30

Dining table and 8 chairs………………$50

Decor………………………………………..$20

New Dishwasher………………………….$500

stainless microwave (not yet hung)..$25

___________________________________

Grand Total………………………………..$675!!

Our kitchen still has a long way to go. I plan to add crown molding to the tops of the cabinets to really give them a more custom feel. I also want to paint our hideous beige tile in a black and white checkered pattern. I hope to accomplish it all this summer, so check back often to see! What do you think of the “remodel” so far?

Leave a Reply

