There’s Just Something About a Black Front Door

Just after we moved in I started scouring craigslist for a new front door. Ours was hideous. It was a metal door, the door knob was nothing to write home about, and it just made me cringe! Every door I fell in love with was way out of our price range. That’s when I started to make a habit of checking the free section daily.

This is actually our back door, but it’s exactly the same as our original front door. Boring, right?

So one day I stumbled across this beauty, FOR FREE!!! I said “HUSBAND, I MUST HAVE THAT DOOR!!” So he went and picked it up! Yay!

Oops, I started to paint it when I realized I forgot to take a picture

It was an almost perfect fit. Jeff had to saw off about 1/2 inch to make it fit perfect. He just used painters tape to tape off his measurement and went after it with a hand saw.

I decided to paint the inside as well as the outside of the door. That way it would be a statement in my entry way too! I painted the molding with a medium angled brush and then rolled the panels with a cabinet roller found at Wal-Mart. I found a quart of indoor/outdoor black paint for just under $8 at Wal-Mart too! I have to say, they do have the best value when it comes to paint and painting supplies.

Molding first with the angled brush, then use the roller for an even finish

I had to do 3 coats to get a uniform look, but one quart was still plenty. All I did to prep the door was wash it and let it dry. It’s been holding up pretty nicely 🙂

Not too shabby for an $8 door! That gorgeous brass hardware actually came with the door. It is bit beat up, but it kind of goes with the age and overall feel of our home. Now all it needs is a beautiful wreath. I’ll be checking out Goodwill this weekend for that!

What do you think?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Black Front Doors and Red BACK Doors! | Hardwood Floors and Black Front Doors

Leave a Reply

